Real Estate Blogging & Social Media Training and Coaching [aka: myKWblog.com]

Sarcasm and Blogging

“No, Groucho is not my real name. I am breaking it in for a friend.” – Groucho Marx

“Sarcasm: the last refuge of modest and chaste-souled people when the privacy of their soul is coarsely and intrusively invaded.” – Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Humorous Pictures

Wikipedia says: “Sarcasm can be difficult to grasp in written form.” No. Really?

Sarcasm is a type of response (some call it a type of humor, but others would call it a poor and pompous excuse for humor) whaich is very common for real estate bloggers – both in blog posts and in comments.

Humor, itself, can be difficult to express in written form, and sarcasm is even harder. If sarcasm is your mode of humor, be careful. We all know that having to explain a joke not only ruins it, but can also turn a simple quip into a long drawn out (and rather pointless) explanation that ultimately leds to a flop of original intent.
Sarcasm is THAT … but times 10. And? Sarcasm is also a sure fire way to offend some one or fling one of your readers into a feverish tangent that lands like a misguided ballistic missle in your comment section. All because they misunderstood your sarcasm.

Personally, I love sarcasm. I am pretty good at at picking sarcasm out of a crowd. And when I do, I like to invite it out to the dance floor and do the Mamba with it, while spectators fidget around wondering WTF I am doing. Sometimes I am okay with that. But I have to be careful.

Just because sarcasm and I share the “inside joke” does not mean that it is appropriate for my readers.

Especially when blogging for consumers – Home buyers and Sellers … beware. It is fine to infuse your sense of humor or sarcastic wit in your posts, but do it tastefully and sparingly. Because you don’t want a silly thing, like misunderstanding your humor, to ruin a potential relationship. Right?

Comments on: "Sarcasm and Blogging" (1)

  1. Well gee whiz,
    You have obviously put some thought into the use of sarcasm in blog posts. I commend you in your efforts. I myself am a true lover of sarcasm (I’ve been referred to as sarcastic myself… as well as sardonic, ironic, cynical, etc.) and love to see it deployed in any and every arena available. Those that don’t catch on… well… too bad for them I tend to think. After all, I once heard life was like a box of chocolates: half of it is going to taste like crap and don’t leave it in the sun unattended. I never could figure out what was inside some of those chocolates. They should come with a users guide or something. Anyways… I forget what we’re talking about.
    http://pointlesscynic.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

